

Dr. Cris Valdez Interim Superintendent of Schools



L DISTRICT Board of Trustees

Armando Cuellar, Jr., President - Dr. Jaime Rodriguez, Vice President - Jesse Trevino, Secretary Marcos De Los Santos - Andrew Gonzalez - Isidoro Nieto - Jaclyn Sustaita

319 W. Fourth Street / P.O. Box 266, Weslaco, TX 78599-0266 • 956-969-6503

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

THIS MEETING WAS POSTED ONLINE FOR AT LEAST 72 HOURS. THE MEETING WAS LIVESTREAMED AT THE FOLLOWING WEB LINK: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NK3ZC7K0E2M

MINUTES

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Armando Cuellar, Board President.

II. Establishment of a Quorum

A quorum was established. The following board members were present:

Armando Cuellar, President Marcos De Los Santos, Trustee Isidoro Nieto, Trustee Jacklyn Sustaita, Trustee

Mr. Jesse Trevino joined the meeting at 4:18 p.m. Dr. Jaime Rodriguez joined the meeting at 4:21 p.m.

Mr. Andrew Gonzalez joined the meeting at 4:44 p.m.

III. Public Comments

The public had the opportunity to participate in public comments by registering no later than 3:30 p.m. at the following web link: https://www.wisd.us/superintendentboard/new-page.

There were no public comments addressed.

IV. Discussion and Possible Action for the Board to Consider Approval of Committee Members to the School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) for the 2022 School Year

The Board of each school district must appoint committee members to the School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) to assist the district in ensuring that local community values are reflected in the district's health education instruction.

According to Mrs. Erica Garcia, Director of Parent and Family Engagement, the Board must appoint at least five members to the SHAC. Currently, 16 parents have volunteered to be on the committee. The Board can choose individuals from those listed or they can choose five individuals of their own. She pointed out that the majority of the committee must consist of parents of students enrolled in the district who are not district employees. The committee can include: teachers, certified school counselors; administrators, students; health care professionals licensed or certified to practice in Texas, including medical or mental health professionals; the business community; law enforcement; senior citizens; the clergy; non-profit health organizations; and local domestic violence programs.

District SHAC Members 2021-2022				
Parents	Student	Community Member	District Employee	
Amy Cuellar Valdez Cleckler-Heald Elementary	Nathan Gonzalez Early College High School	Graciela Camarena	Desi Rodriguez Director of Athletics	
Rocio Padilla B. Garza Middle School	Belloor	Ronda Lewis Valley Baptist Micro- Hospital Administrator	Michael De La Rosa Executive Director of Risk Management/ Employee Benefits	
Adriana Cantu Gonzalez Elementary School		Omar Chavez Methodist Healthcare Ministries of South Texas	Susan Coffman District Health Services Coordinator	
Monica Medrano Memorial Elementary School		Mary Lou Cavazos Superior Health	Joseph Carranza Elementary PE Coach	
Lino Zamora Central Middle School			Dora Pena Food Service Director	
Corina Gonzalez CTE			Erica Garcia Parent & Family Engagement Director	
Nubia Herrera Ybarra Elementary School			Cindy Cid Student Support Services Director	
Erica Castillo Margo Elementary School				
Ana Izaguirre Airport Elementary School				
Astrid Aguilar Silva Elementary School				
Patricia Jimenez Sam Houston Elementary				
Geronimo Carrillo Rico Elementary School				

Maria Rodriguez		
North Bridge Elementary		
School		
Yvonne Bautista		
Cuellar Middle School		
Diana Garza		
Mary Hoge/WEHS		
Gabriela Correa		
Weslaco High School		

Mr. Isidoro Nieto commented that it would be beneficial to approve all the individuals as presented in case some of the parents were not able to participate in the future. Therefore, he made the motion to approve the School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) committee members for the 2022 school year as presented. Mr. Marcos De Los Santos seconded the motion.

Mrs. Sustaita wanted to know if the Board could appoint more members in the future. Mrs. Garcia replied that other committee members could be appointed; however, an agenda item would have to be presented for board approval.

Mr. Marcos De Los Santos made the motion to approve the list of committee members as presented. Mr. Isidoro Nieto seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Mr. Jesse Trevino joined the meeting at 4:18 p.m.

Dr. Jaime Rodriguez joined the meeting at 4:21 p.m.

Mr. Andrew Gonzalez joined the meeting at 4:44 p.m.

V. Closed Meeting to Discuss:

The Board convened in closed meeting at 4:15 p.m.

A. Consultation with Search Firm Consultants (JG Consulting) and for Discussion of Applicants for the Superintendent Vacancy under Texas Government Code Section 551.074

VI. Reconvene in Open Meeting:

The Board returned to open meeting at 7:50 p.m.

A. Possible Action, If Necessary, on Items Discussed in Closed Meeting

Non-action item.

VII. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 7:57 p.m.