Guidance & Counseling

The Weslaco ISD guidance and counseling department follows the Texas Comprehensive Developmental Guidance and Counseling Program, which is an integral part of the total educational program. It provides a systematic, planned approach for helping all students acquire and apply basic life skills by making optimal use of special knowledge and skills of school counselors.

This program is based on four components, which are as follows:

Guidance Curriculum-the purpose of the guidance curriculum is to help students acquire age-appropriate knowledge and skills within the scope of the following content areas: self confidence, development, motivation to achieve, decision making, goal setting, planning, problem solving skills, interprestonal effectiveness, and responsible behavior.

Responsive Services-the purpose of the responsive services component is to intervene on behalf of those students whose immediate personal concerns or problems put their continued personal-social, career and/or educational development at risk.

Individual Planning- the purpose of the individual planning system is to guide all students as they plan, monitor, and manage their own educational career and personal social development.

Systems Support-this component describes services and management activities which indirectly benefit students.

The WISD Guidance & Counseling/Social Work mission is to implement a comprehensive developmental guidance and counseling program for our students in grades Pre-K - 12 promoting student success through focus on academic achievement, prevention, and intervention activities, advocacy and social/emotional and career developement to meet the needs of the students and community of WISD.

The comprehensive development guidance and counseling program model is embedded into the WISD academic curriculum and covers these strands:

  • Self-knowledge and acceptance
  • Interpersonal and communication skills
  • Conflict resolution
  • Decision making/problem solving
  • Motivation to achieve
  • Goal setting
  • Career planning

We encourage parents to make an appointment with your child's counselor to view the guidance curriculum and discuss what you can do together to create the most successful educational experience possible.

Counselors & Social Workers

High School

Weslaco East High School (956) 969-6950

Diana Reyna - ART Ext. 32218 Email: dreyna@wisd.us

Armando Gonzalez-  argonzalez@wisd.us

Carey Boleach - TECH Ext. 36959 Email: cboleach@wisd.us

Olga Garza - LAW Ext. 32219 Email: olgarza@wisd.us

Elvira Martinez - HS Ext. 32211 Email: emartine@wisd.us

Nancy Ortiz - BUS Ext. 32213 Email: nortiz@wisd.us

Zalinda Rodriguez - Social Worker Ext. 32221 Email:zrodrigue@wisd.us

Zeida Rodriguez- zrodriguez@wisd.us

Weslaco High School (956) 969-6700

Caridad Salinas - BUS Ext. 36824 Email: casalinas@wisd.us

Laura Villarreal - LAW Ext. 36674 Email: livillar@wisd.us

Rosanna Olivarez - DE Ext. 36679 Email: rolivarez@wisd.us

Eunice Leija - HED Ext. 36826 Email: eleija@wisd.us

Patricia Gonzalez - TECH Ext. 36830 Email: pgonzales@wisd.us

Krystal Munoz- Kmunoz@wisd.us

Jose Luis Baron- jbaron@wisd.us

Elva Rey Marroquin - Social Worker Ext. 36827 Email: emarroqu@wisd.us

Christina Rodriguez - GEAR UP Ext. 33289 Email: crodriguez@wisd.us

Early College High School (956) 969-6742

Melinda Ortiz - Counselor Ext. 30152 Email: msosaortiz@wisd.us

Yronne Olivarez- yolivarez@wisd.us

South Palm Gardens (956) 969-6621

Martha Guerrero- martguerre@wisd.us

Araceli Mireles - Social Worker Ext. 32005 Email: armireles@wisd.us

Middle School

Beartiz Garza Middle School (956) 969-6774

Lina Solis - Counselor Ext. 34027 Email: lmsolis@wisd.us

Dora Alaniz - Counselor Ext. 34012 Email: dalaniz@wisd.us

Iris Hernandez - Social Worker Ext. 34028 Email: ihernand@wisd.us

Mary Hoge Middle School (956) 969-6730

Cecilia Becerra- cbecerra@wisd.us

Sylvia Kromer - Counselor Ext. 34613 Email: skromer@wisd.us

Alicia Solis - Social Worker Ext. 34612 Email: asolis@wisd.us

Cuellar Middle School (956) 969-6730

Mary Yanez- myanez@wisd.us

Elisa Martinez - Counselor Ext. 34514 Email: elmartin@wisd.us

Nelda Torres - Social Worker Ext. 34516 Email: netorres@wisd.us

Central Middle School (956) 969-6720

Enrique Weaver - Counselor Ext. 34263 Email: eweaver@wisd.us

Jennifer Acosta - Counselor Ext. 34269 Email: jcacosta@wisd.us

Cathy Garcia - Social Worker Ext. 34256 Email: catgarcia@wisd.us

Elementary School

Raul Gonzalez Elementary - (956) 969-6760

Dr. Rosie Maldonado – Counselor - Ext. 37263 Email: rmaldona@wisd.us

Carmen Jimenez – Counselor - Ext. 37262 Email: cjimenez@wisd.us

Rudy Silva Elementary (956) 969-6790

Diana Garza – Counselor - Ext. 37409 Email: dgarza@wisd.us

Cleckler-Heald Elementary - (956) 969-6888

Mayra Rios –Mejia – Counselor - Ext. 39719 Email: mrios@wisd.us

Linda Abrego – Counselor - Ext. 39720 Email: labrego@wisd.us

Memorial Elementary – (956) 969-6780

Dr. Veronica Alonzo – Counselor - Ext. 39821 Email: valonzo@wisd.us

Juan Carlos Casanova – Counselor - Ext. 39820 Email: jcasanova@wisd.us

Dr. RE Margo Elementary – (956) 969-6800

Cynthia Perez – Counselor – Ext. 37783 Email: cperez@wisd.us

Laura Hernandez- laflores@wisd.us

Mario Ybarra Elementary – (956) 969-6587

Myra Rodriguez Hough – Counselor – Ext. 37935 Email: mhough@wisd.us

A.N. (Tony) Rico Elementary – (956) 969-6815

Dora Gonzalez – Counselor - Ext. 36362 Email: dgonzalez@wisd.us

Melissa Coronado – Counselor - Ext. 36360 Email: mcoronado@wisd.us

North Bridge Elementary – (956) 969-6810

Viviana Cavazos – Counselor - Ext. 37106 Email: vcavazos@wisd.us

Martha Garcia – Counselor - Ext. 37110 Email: magacia@wisd.us

Airport Drive Elementary – (956) 969-6770

Juanita Sarmiento – Counselor - Ext. 30283 Email: jsarmiento@wisd.us

Melly Olivarez – Counselor - Ext. 39515 Email: molivare@wisd.us

Debra Woodard – Counselor - Ext. 39514 Email: dwoodard@wisd.us

Sam Houston Elementary – (956) 969-6740

Dina Davila – Counselor - Ext. 37564 Email: ddavila@wisd.us

Adriana Cantu- adcantu@wisd.us

Other Support Staff

Special Education Department - (956) 969-6822

Beatriz Aguilar- Spec. Ed. Counselor - Ext. 30532 Email: beaguilar@wisd.us

Silvia Navarez – Spec. Ed Counselor - Ext. 30529 Email: snevarez@wisd.us

Letty Padilla – Spec Ed. Counselor – Ext. 30531 Email: lpadilla@wisd.us

Juan Miguel Saiz Picazo – Spec Ed. Counselor - Ext. 30530 Email: jmsaizpicazo@wisd.us

Abby Munoz – School Psychologist – Ext. 30521 Email: abmunoz@wisd.us

Christine Medrano- School Psychologist - cmmedrano@wisd.us

Joe Calvillo CATE Complex – (956) 969-6703

Rosie Perez – Career Development Advisor - Ext. 32104 Email: rperez@wisd.us

Horton AEP – (956) 969-6916

Rolando Zavala – College Readiness - Ext. 30208 Email: rzavala@wisd.us

Mari Alvarado – Social Worker - Ext. 30204 Email: maralvard@wisd.us